top of page

Living A Life Of A Court Reporter

In spite of all the betterment in speech-to-text software, there still nothing that can replace the significance and reliability of the human touch when it comes to creating a perfect transcript. A court reporter is more than just someone who sits quietly in one corner of the courtroom while working on the stenography machine.


The life of a court reporter is full of challenges, fun, and surprises especially for someone like me who wants to do everything according to plan and schedule. Before becoming a court reporter, I was just a typical office worker who goes to the office and goes back home at an almost exact time every day. Scheduling my office tasks, grocery time, household chores, and family time was so easy for me because everything seems to be just on a regular cycle that any working mom lives with.

Career change: taking the initial steps...

I thought everything was just ok but then I realized one day that staying in such situation for many years made me feel flat and bored. I need to do something more challenging, exciting, and fun. And so I tried to apply for a position in a private court reporting agency as a court reporter. I already have a degree in the field of stenography and court reporting and have already acquired the necessary certification for the job. I also have good grades at college and an excellent track record at work so I was able to successfully got the job.

Finding my balance...

Despite the challenges I face every day, I am glad that I am still able to find the balance between my personal life, family, and work. Working as a court reporter means changing my daily routine. Because most of the time I get my assignment a day or an hour before the scheduled trial, I need to be always ready to report to the office whenever needed. And so, I always make sure I have done every household chores whenever I got the chance. I prepare the meal for my family ahead of time and have it stored in the fridge so that my kids can just grab something to eat whenever they get hungry.

Life as a court reporter...

Court reporting seems to be just an easy job. It is not as easy as what we typically see in a movie or film. The fact is, it is really harder and more unpredictable than you think. As a court reporter, I also need to diligently maintain a very high accuracy standard and a great sense of time consciousness in order for me to deliver an excellent quality and precise record of the proceedings in a timely manner.

Although we usually just sit quietly in one corner of the courtroom while working with the stenography machine and we are practically not an active part of the proceedings, there are times that we need to speak up, to clarify something, and to ask from the parties involved about some necessary information like the exact address mentioned and the correct spellings of names in order to create a precise record.

In order to be an effective court reporter, I need to be always punctual, alert, and attentive. I also have to possess great listening skills in order for me not to miss even a single important word spoken inside the court room.


Comments


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
bottom of page